Whats your personal philosophy?

You do have one...

(4 minute read) // (10-minute exploration) (13 mins if you include the favour)

Hii friend, 

It’s always so wonderful to see you on our SELFHOOD Sundays! Although I’m really not sure HOW it’s September next week?!

But it does mean… (iykyk)

 🎵 Where you lead I will follow… anywhere… 🎵

Now is the time (if you haven’t already) to go find yourself a cozy drink and a comfy chair. 

I hope you’re ready for some self-exploration!

Today we’re diving into personal philosophies— a guiding set of principles that shapes how you live your life.

As always, I have a lesson, 3 questions, and a dare for you.

And we’re mixing things up today, as I also have 1 tiny favour I’d like to ask, but we can do that at the end. 

[A LESSON]

Whether you’ve spent time consciously thinking about or articulating it, odds are, you have a personal philosophy. This is the lens through which you view the world and the person you want to be within it. 

In other words - It’s your core beliefs distilled into a few guiding principles.

A personal philosophy provides you with a foundation to build your actions and decisions and can serve as a great compass during life’s trickier moments.

Just think about the most iconic, memorable leaders - what do they all have in common?

There’s probably a few things… but the one I’m focusing on today is - that we all know what they stood for.

Because they knew what they stood for.

So their actions, words and decisions aligned and communicated that. 

If you look around, there are philosophies everywhere. Brands have them (bringing inspiration and innovation to every body), individuals have them (Mamba mentality), and the place you work probably has a version of one too.

So, despite saying all of this, let me be the first to admit

🙋🏽‍♀️ I don’t have one. 

I have 3 clear values (something we spend time exploring in SELFHOOD sessions), but a philosophy… nope. And honestly, it wasn’t something I’d ever given much thought to. 

My interest was sparked by a book a friend gave me - ‘Slow Productivity’ by Cal Newport (yes, it was a nudge). In one of the first chapters, Cal articulates the philosophy that sits behind it -

Which got me thinking. 

I don’t have a personal philosophy, but ironically SELFHOOD does -

It’s still exploring.

The belief that a rich, fulfilling life is built from the openness to keep exploring who you are, at any age or life stage. And it’s something you can do, right where you are. 

It sits on the inner sleeve of our hoodies as a reminder.

But as you hopefully know by now, I’m a fan of anything that gets those self-exploration juices flowing so I figured I’d give it a go, and given the timing of this realization, thought you might like to join in too?

And what’s cool, is we can do it with 3 questions, and a dare.

[3* QUESTIONS ] - To uncover your personal philosophy

  1. If you had to write a rulebook for life that only had three rules, what would they be?

  2. What would you never apologize for?

  3. Think about the person who knows you the best. What would they say your personal philosophy is?

Bonus question for those open to getting a little more creative...

*If you had to describe your philosophy as a flavour, what would it be?

[A DARE]

I dare you…

to take those insights and craft them into your personal philosophy. I’d initially aim for 25-ish words, so a sentance or two, from there you can either add or cut.

It doesn’t have to read beautifully. This isn’t intended to be your new LinkedIn bio. It’s a little phrase (for you) that can live on a Post-it by your computer, reminding you when life gets… lifey - who you are, and what you believe.

This is not another way for you to berate yourself, ya’hear!

Like anything identity-related, this philosophy is likely to change and evolve over time. There will be periods where you are nailing it, and seasons where you may fall short. It is what it is. And ‘what it is’ is just another tool, you can add to your toolbox to support you in remembering the you, YOU want to be. As this world is awfully good at trying to get us to forget.

[A FAVOUR]

Ok, before I leave you to get back to the rest of your Sunday - the favour.

I’d like to borrow (sounds better than steal), 3 more minutes of your time - to get your advice on something.

The something = SELFHOOD.

I have this big idea. One of those scary but super exciting ones, but before we go all in, I want to make sure, my idea and your needs, fit.

So, I have 5 quick questions HERE «< I would LOVE your opinion on.

Go on…

And then that’s it, you’ve done your good deed for the day! You can now spend the rest of the day being the absolute worstttt.

(but please do the survey )

As always, if you have thoughts, insights, feedback or questions.

You can also just hit reply.

I always love hearing from you 🙂 

See you on a Sunday.

L

P.S If a friend forwarded this to you, stop creeping in the shadows and come and join us.

»> Sign up here «<

for real